Skip to Main Content

U.S. History Native Americans and Indian Removal: Resources

Databases

Books and eBooks

eBook Collection
There are ebooks about the individual tribes in the eBook Collection database. Search the database for the name of your tribe/nation.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal
ISBN: 9780313360411

This encyclopedia is available in the eBook Collection database. There may be several useful sections of this encyclopedia, but you can also use the links below to go the specific section on your tribe/nation.

Books in the Library

Several books in the library may be helpful to you. They are located in the nonfiction section with 970 call numbers. The books below are just a few examples of what is available.

Scholastic Encyclopedia of the North American Indian
Call Number: 970.004 C573S

ISBN: 0590227904
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Call Number: 970.00497 E56

ISBN: 0761402276
Native North American Almanac by Cynthia Rose (Editor); Duane Champagne (Editor)
Call Number: 970.00497 N278

ISBN: 0810398206
The Choctaw by Jesse O. McKee
Call Number: 973 M154

ISBN: 1555466990
The Creek by Shirlee P. Newman
Call Number: 973.04973 N555C
The Trail of Tears by Ann Byers
Call Number: 973.04975 B993T
World of the Southern Indians by Virginia P. Brown; Laurella Owens; Nathan H. Glick (Illustrator)
Call Number: 975.00497 B881W
The Seminoles by Martin Lee
Call Number: 975.90049 L479S

ISBN: 0531107523
The Indian Removal Act by Mark Stewart
Call Number: 973.04 S849I

ISBN: 9780756524524

Websites

Cherokee

Cherokee Nation
The Trail of Tears: A Story of Cherokee Removal
from the Smithsonian Institution

Creek

Chickasaw

Seminole

Choctaw